Press Coverage

Read more about our Arctic Challengers from across the UK and abroad:

INTERNATIONAL

Euronewswww.euronews.com/2015/05/06/arctic-rugby-challenge

Fox Sports, Australiayoutu.be/D_1xWe2yx60

Nunatsiaq News (the eastern Arctic’s oldest newspaper) – http://www.nunatsiaqonline.ca/stories/article/65674british_ruggers_hoping_for_world_record_match_at_the_north_pole/

 

UK

The Mirrorwww.mirror.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/childrens-charity-sets-record-northernmost-5647633

Intouch Rugbywww.intouchrugby.com/magazine/interview-ollie-phillips-comments-after-returning-from-the-arctic-treck-to-the-pole-and-playing-a-game-of-rugby-there

Rugby Worldwww.rugbyworld.com/news/wooden-spoon-arctic-challenge-is-a-record-breaker-45196

Leaprate.comleaprate.com/2015/04/lmax-ceo-david-mercer-breaks-guiness-world-record

City Amwww.cityam.com/215157/arctic-scrum-record-breaking-rugby-match

 

Legal Cheek – http://www.legalcheek.com/2015/04/lawyer-to-take-part-in-arctic-rugby-world-record-attempt/

IntouchRugby – http://www.intouchrugby.com/magazine/a-royal-reception-for-rugby-charity-arctic-challengers/

Mail Online - http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/article-2917772/Former-England-trio-Tim-Stimpson-Lee-Mears-Ollie-Phillips-aim-set-world-record-playing-rugby-arctic.html

The Rugby Paper - http://www.therugbypaper.co.uk/latest-news/15055/intrepid-adventurers-tackle-arctic-conditions-to-set-a-world-record/

Sports Vibe - http://sportsvibe.co.uk/industry-news/rugby/a-lion-meets-a-polar-bear-34089/

City AM - http://www.cityam.com/article/1393896922/poles-apart-fx-trader-will-join-rugby-stars-trek-north-pole

Automated Trader - http://www.automatedtrader.net/news/at/149310/lmax-exchange-sponsors-world-record-arctic-rugby-challenge

 

IRELAND

Belfast Telegraphwww.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/ulster-tycoon-on-top-of-the-world-after-arctic-rugby-recordbreaker-31186262.html

Belfast Telegraph (video)www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/video-news/video-team-of-north-pole-trekkers-arrive-for-rugby-world-record-31182648.html

 

SCOTLAND

ITV, Border Lifewww.itv.com/news/border/update/2015-04-27/watch-episode-63-of-border-life-online

ITV Borders Newswww.itv.com/news/border/update/2015-04-28/n-ice-pass-rugby-match-at-magnetic-north-pole

BBC Scotland Newswww.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-south-scotland-32512275

Daily Recordwww.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/weird-news/watch-four-scots-brave-temperatures-5647418

Herald Scotlandwww.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/scots-in-record-breaking-polar-rugby-challenge-praise-incredible-experience.125200642

Scotland Nowwww.scotlandnow.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/video-scots-set-record-northernmost-5650382

Dumfries & Galloway What’s Going Onwww.dgwgo.com/sport-news/dumfries-arctic-rugby-challenger-arrive-at-magnetic-north-pole

Daily Recordwww.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/local-news/dumfries-men-reach-north-pole-5596088

 

BBC News, Scotland – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-32286140

STV News - http://news.stv.tv/scotland/316646-former-rugby-stars-set-for-record-breaking-north-pole-charity-trek/

Daily Record - http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scrum-guy-says-100-mile-trek-4971773

Edinburgh News - http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/ex-edinburgh-rugby-stars-aim-for-north-pole-game-1-3653437

The Edinburgh Reporter - http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2015/01/eden-scott-backs-rugby-star-on-arctic-adventure-to-set-world-record/

Dumfries & Galloway What’s Going On - http://www.dgwgo.com/regional-news/dumfries-mans-arctic-rugby-challenge-gets-royal-reception/

Dumfries & Galloway What’s Going On - http://www.dgwgo.com/regional-news/dumfries-arctic-rugby-challenger-gets-serious-training/

Scottish Rugby – http://www.scottishrugby.org/news/15/02/04/it-time-geoff-said-bye-beard

 

NORTH & MIDLANDS

Leicester Mercurywww.leicestermercury.co.uk/Tigers-legend-Tim-Stimpson-returns-Arctic-rugby/story-26464294-detail/story.html

The Chroniclewww.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/north-east-news/former-newcastle-falcons-players-create-9201868

Leicester Mercurywww.leicestermercury.co.uk/Tigers-star-Tim-Stimpson-plays-rugby-game-North/story-26411988-detail/story.html

 

Tim Stimpson – Radio Leicester 080415

The Northern Echo - http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/news/local/northdurham/durham/11808186.Royal_blessing_for_Arctic_rugby_challenge/

The Northern Echo - http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/news/11727621.Falcons_star_s_Arctic_challenge/%20/

Leicester Tigers - http://www.leicestertigers.com/news/21697.php#.VO83dPmsWOo

 

SOUTH

ITV London Newswww.itv.com/news/london/update/2015-05-07/the-rugby-teams-who-played-a-game-at-the-magnetic-north-pole

Eagle Radio, Surrey & Hantswww.964eagle.co.uk/news/local-news/1606557/photos-the-northernmost-rugby-match-everat-the-north-pole

Oxford Mailwww.oxfordmail.co.uk/news/yourtown/Bicester/12932891.In_pole_position_on_world_record

Bicester Advertiserwww.bicesteradvertiser.net/news/bicester/12932891.In_pole_position_on_world_record

Oxford Timeswww.oxfordtimes.co.uk/news/yourtown/bicester/12932891.In_pole_position_on_world_record

Henley Standardwww.henleystandard.co.uk/news/news.php?id=40960

 

Quilter Cheviot – http://www.quiltercheviot.com/latest-news/arctic-rugby-the-final-countdown/

James Harding’s blog – http://arcticrugbydaddy.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/a-princess-knight-heroes-heroines.html

Henley Standard - http://www.henleystandard.co.uk/sport/sport.php?id=18327

Windsor & Eton Express - http://www.windsorexpress.co.uk/News/Areas/Windsor/Arctic-awaits-Windsor-film-producer-seeking-to-break-rugby-record-19022015.htm

Oxford Mail - http://www.oxfordmail.co.uk/news/11814116.Rugby_fan_takes_on_challenge_of_a_lifetime/

PR.com, Lion Containers - http://www.pr.com/press-release/610472

Local Berkshire – http://www.localberkshire.co.uk/news/windsor/articles/2015/02/27/107969-windsor-rugby-lover-to-take-part-in-north-pole-match-for-the-wooden-spoon-charity/

 

EAST

Ipswich Starwww.ipswichstar.co.uk/news/record_setting_arctic_trekker_paul_jordan_from_woodbridge_reaches_polar_destination_1_4052577

East Anglian Daily Timeshttp://www.eadt.co.uk/news/record_setting_arctic_trekker_paul_jordan_from_woodbridge_reaches_polar_destination_1_4052577

 

Ipswich Star - http://www.ipswichstar.co.uk/news/top_of_the_world_record_trek_for_stroke_survivor_1_3916816

 

WEST

Gloucester Citizenwww.gloucestercitizen.co.uk/Ex-Gloucester-winger-Ollie-Phillips-sets-world/story-26411887-detail/story.html

Bath Chroniclewww.bathchronicle.co.uk/Ex-Bath-Rugby-star-Lee-Mears-completes-Arctic/story-26415019-detail/story.html

 

Ollie Phillips – Radio Gloucestershire 130415

Gloucester Citizen - http://www.gloucestercitizen.co.uk/Ex-Gloucester-winger-Ollie-Phillips-set-world/story-25881379-detail/story.html

Bath Chronicle - http://www.bathchronicle.co.uk/Rugby-stars-including-Bath-Rugby-hooker-Lee-Mears/story-25876863-detail/story.html

Bath Chronicle – http://m.bathchronicle.co.uk/Bath-Rugby-star-Lee-Mears-qualified-referee/story-26105430-detail/story.html

 

They-only-went-and-did-it.-Wooden-Spoon-Arctic-Rugby-ChallengeOur amazing challengers are available for media interviews, for more information about the challenge and to arrange an interview please contact Wooden Spoon’s PR and Marketing team:

Juliette Gillard

E: jgillard@woodenspoon.com

Helen Cook

E: hcook@woodenspoon.com